Booking Forms

Tours, Holidays Accommodations




abcmalaysia Guides

Travel Guide

Holidays & Vacations






Useful Links
Travel Insurance
Currency Converter

Send Greeting Card

Contact Us

Malaysia Travel Guide


About Malaysia   Johor   Kedah   Kelantan   Kuala Lumpur   Labuan   Melaka   N. Sembilan Pahang   Penang   Perak   Perlis   Putrajaya   Sabah   Sarawak   Selangor   Terengganu


Past Kings 


The Agongs Of  Malaysia




The office of the King or the “Yang diPertuan Agong”is not hereditary but is for a fixed term of five years and on a rotational system among the Rulers. It provides that for the purposes of the appointment of the King, the order of precedence among the nine Rulers (based on the length of time the Rulers had reigned in their States) at the time of Independence, be followed.


The Past Yang Di Pertuan Agong's of Malaysia



The 1st Agong

Aug 3, 1957 ~ Apr 1, 1960

The Yang Di Pertuan Besar of Negeri Sembilan, Tuanku Abdul Rahman Tuanku Muhammad, was installed as Malaysia's first King on Sepy 2, 1957. He died in office on April 1, 1960. It is his portrait that we see on all Malaysian currency notes.



The 2nd Agong

Apr 14, 1960 ~ Sept 1, 1960

Sultan Hisamuddin Alam Shah Alauddin Sulaiman Shah of Selangor was the acting King for less than five months before he died on Sept 1, 1960 just hours before he was to be installed as the second Yang Di Pertuan Agong.



The 3rd Agong

Sept 1, 1960 ~ Sept 20, 1965

The Raja of Perlis, Tuanku Syed Putra Syed Syed Hassan Jamalullail, was installed as the third King on Jan 4, 1961.



The 4th Agong

Sept 21, 1965 ~ Sept 20, 1970

The Sultan of Terengganu, Sultan Ismail Nasiruddin Shah Sultan Zainal Abidin, ws installed as the country's fourth King on April 11, 1966.



The 5th Agong

Sept 21, 1970 ~ Sept 20, 1975

The Sultan of Kedah, Sultan ITuanku Alhaj Halim Mu'adzam Shah Ibni Al-Murham Sultan Badishah, ws installed as 

the country's fifth King.



The 6th Agong

Sept 21, 1975 ~ Mac 29, 1979

Sultan Yahya Petra Sultan Ibrahim of Kelantan was installed on Feb 28, 1976, He died in office less than four years into his reign.



The 7th Agong

Apr 26, 1979 ~ Apr 25, 1984

Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah Al-Mustain Billah Sultan Abu Bakar Riayatuddin Al-Muadzam Shah of the State of Pahang was installed on Aug 10, 1980.



The 8th Agong

Apr 26, 1984 ~ Apr 25. 1989

The Sultan of Johor, Sultan Mahmood Iskandar Sultan Ismail was installed as the eighth Yang Di Pertuan Agong on Nov 15, 1984.



The 9th Agong

Apr 26, 1989 ~ Apr 25. 1994

Sultan Azlan Muhibbuddin Shah Sultan Yusuff Izzuddin Ghafarullahulahu of Perak was installed as the nation's 9th King on Sept 18, 1989.



The 10th Agong

Apr 26, 1994 ~ Apr 25. 1999

The Yang Di Pertuan Besar of Negeri Sembilan, Tuanku Jaafar Tuanku Abdul Rahman was installed on Sept 22, 1994.



The 11th Agong

Apr 26, 1999 ~ Nov 21, 2001

Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Sultan Hisamuddin Alam Shah of Selangor was installed on Sept 23, 1999 and died in office on Nov 21, 2001.



Discover Malaysia   States of Malaysia   History   Monarch   Government   History   People   Culture   Festivals   Holidays   Handicrafts   Cuisine   Weather   Golfing   FAQ








View Index

To all

Travel & Tours

Packages in





The King ] The Royal Regalia ] [ Past Kings ]

Contact Us     About Us     Terms & Conditions 

Copyright © 2002-2005 Capslock Sdn Bhd.  All rights reserved.